How to Disable Camera Access on iPhone Lock Screen

Camera access on iPhone lock screen is a great feature which lets you take shots without unlocking your device. It is very useful for the people who like to capture every moment. But for the people who are not very much into photography, this feature is not very useful. Plus you won’t want anyone to have access to your iPhone camera (a security risk). So, if you are concerned about your privacy, you can disable camera access on your iPhone lock screen.

To be very clear, Apple doesn’t provide any direct setting to disable camera access on iPhone lock screen. So, we will have to use a workaround for that. But be warned, this trick will disable the Camera app completely on your iPhone. And you will have to re-enable camera every time you want to take photos or record videos. So, if you access camera very frequently on your iPhone, this tutorial is not for you. But if you rarely use camera on your iPhone, you can follow this tutorial.

SEE ALSO: 10 Tips to Improve Security and Privacy on iOS 13?

Prevent Camera Access on iPhone Lock Screen

You may have several reasons for disabling camera access on iPhone lock screen. Be it a parental control thing or to avoid strangers peeking into your phone. You can follow these steps.

Step 1: Open Content & Privacy Restrictions Settings

First of all, open the Settings app on your iPhone. Then go to Screen Time and enable it if not enabled already. Now, in Screen Time settings, tap on Content & Privacy Restrictions.

NOTE: This tutorial is based on iOS 13 using Screen Time. If you are using older iOS version, you will have to go to Settings > General > Restrictions. 

Open Settings On Iphone Go To Screen Time And Select Content And Privacy Restrictions
Open Settings on iPhone and go to Screen Time > Content & Privacy Restrictions

Step 2: Enable Content & Privacy Restrictions on iPhone

Now, enable the toggle next to Content & Privacy Restrictions. Please note that if you have already enabled Screen Time Passcode, you will be prompted to enter it. Enter your Screen Time passcode when prompted. Here we will be able to disable access to camera on iPhone Lock screen.

Enable The Toggle Next To Content And Privacy Restrictions And Enter Your Passcode
Enable Content & Privacy Restrictions and enter your Passcode

SEE ALSO: How to Reset Screen Time Passcode on iPhone?

Step 3: Disable Camera Access on iPhone Lock Screen

In Content & Privacy Settings, tap on the Allowed Apps. Here you will see the list of the apps which are allowed on your iPhone. Disable the switch next to Camera app.

Tap On Allowed Apps And Disable The Switch Next To Camera
Disable the switch for Camera app

We are done here. Now, the camera access on your iPhone has been disabled. As mentioned in the beginning, you won’t be able to access the Camera app on your iPhone. So, if you need to access the camera, go to the same setting and re-enable the camera.


SEE ALSO: How to Restrict App Clips in iOS 14?

Disable Camera Access on Your iPhone Lock Screen

Above tutorial explained a simple and straightforward method to disable camera access on iPhone Lock screen. Though it prevents unauthorized access to your iPhone’s camera, yet it might be inconvenient for you if you are a regular camera user. Make sure to re-enable the camera before using it again.

Hope you liked this tutorial. Feel free to share your thoughts and suggestions in the comment section down below. You may also subscribe to our newsletter to receive latest tutorials via email.

Editorial Staff

Hi there, we are the editorial staff at HELLPC. We are a team of funny and technical people. Feel free to get in touch with us via Contact-Us page.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Back to top button