How to Automatically Delete your Google Account

Your Google account is one of the services that collects the most amount of data about your online activities. So, have you ever thought about what is going to happen to your Google account when you pass away? Will your precious data stay on Google servers forever? Or is there a way to automatically delete your inactive Google account and data?

First of all, let us make it clear to you that your precious data will stay on Google servers unless and until someone or Google deletes it. To tackle this problem, Google itself provides “Inactive Account Manager” tool.

SEE ALSO: Protect your Privacy while using Google Chrome?

How to Auto-Delete your Inactive Google Account?

Using Inactive Account Manager, you can decide and configure how to dispose off your Google account data in the unfortunate event of your death. So, in this tutorial, we will show you, how to set up Inactive Account Manager to automatically delete your Google Account.

Step 1: Open Google’s Inactive Account Manager

First of all, you will have to login to your Google Account. Then select “Data & personalization” tab from the menu on the left. Here, click on “Make a plan for your account” under “Download, delete, or make a plan for your data” section.

Login To Google Account And Select Make A Plan For Your Account From Data And Personalization
Select Make a plan for your Account from Data & Personalization

Alternatively, you can use this link to access Google’s Inactive Account Manager. After that Inactive Account Manager will open. Here, you will see brief description of this feature. Click START to start configuring to automatically delete your Google account data.

Click Start Button To Setup Your Google Account Data To Auto Delete
Click START to start the process

SEE ALSO: How to Transfer Google Play Music content to YouTube Music?


Step 2: Set Waiting Period and Confirm your Details

First, you will be asked to set the waiting period. After the waiting period is over, Google will consider your account as inactive.

You can select from available options: 3 months, 6 months, 12 months or 18 months. Select your desired period and click SAVE.

After that confirm your email address and verify your phone number. Finally click NEXT to move to next step.

Set waiting period for your Google Account
Set waiting period for your Google Account

SEE ALSO: How to Keep your Google Photos Private?


Step 3: Add Trusted Persons to Notify

Next, you will see option to add trusted persons (upto 10). Google will notify these people after your account becomes inactive. People you add via Inactive Account Manager can access your Google account data (photos, files etc.) for 3 months.

Click ADD PERSON button, enter the email address of your trusted person and click NEXT. Similarly, you can add more trusted persons to Inactive Account Manager console.

Add Trusted Persons to Notify
Add Trusted Persons to Notify

SEE ALSO: How to Remove Third-party App access from Google and Facebook?


Step 4: Set Auto Reply for Incoming Emails

If you want, you can also set up an AutoReply message that will be sent in reply of incoming emails. We suggest you setup this option as it will notify the sender that this account is no longer in use.

To set AutoReply message, click SET AUTOREPLY button. Now type the Subject and Body of AutoReply email.

Set AutoReply to incoming mails
Set AutoReply for incoming mails

Step 5: Set your Inactive Google Account to Auto Delete

It’s time to set your inactive Google account to delete automatically. Turn ON the toggle next to “Yes, delete my inactive Google Account” and click REVIEW PLAN.

Enable Delete Inactive Google Account And Click Review Plan
Enable Delete Inactive Google Account and click Review Plan

Finally, you will see the overview of the settings, you have selected. Review it carefully and click on CONFIRM PLAN to continue. After that your Google account will be deleted automatically after three months of becoming inactive.

Click Confirm Plan to save your Settings
Click Confirm Plan to save your Settings

SEE ALSO: How to Export Google Photos to Microsoft OneDrive and Flickr?


Step 6: Cancel your Plan

You can also cancel your “auto-delete Google account” plan from Inactive Account Manager. Simply, go to Inactive Account Manager just like Step 1 and click TURN OFF MY PLAN. Your plan will be canceled and account will stay active.

Turn Off Auto Delete Google Account Plan From Inactive Account Manager
Turn Off Auto-Delete Google Account Plan

Delete your Inactive Google Account Automatically

So, now you don’t need to worry about the data you leave behind when you stop using your Google account or in case of your unfortunate death. You can easily set your Google account to auto-delete your data after specific duration of inactivity.

Hope you find this information helpful. We suggest you to configure your Google account plan to prevent your data from falling into wrong hands. Also, don’t forget to subscribe for getting latest tutorials directly into your inbox.

Editorial Staff

Hi there, we are the editorial staff at HELLPC Tutorials. We are a team of funny and technical people. Feel free to get in touch with us via Contact-Us page.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Back to top button