How to Keep Your Google Photos Private

Google Photos offers a great way to manage and backup your photos to cloud. Another good feature of Google Photos is that you can easily share photos with anyone. But sharing photos sometimes may cause troubles for you. Everyone wants to keep their Google Photos private. But, whenever you share album with your contacts, album link is created and it is public by default. So, anyone with that link can access your Google Photos easily.

So, if your shared album link falls into wrong hands, there may be some really bad consequences. And there are many stories which tell that how horrible it is when your photos get into wrong hands. This has been a big loophole in Google Photos but has not been fixed yet.

See Also: How to enable Dark Mode in Google Photos?

The fact is, Google Photos does not even notify users about the public album link. And anyone with the link can view, save and join the album. Since there is no solution provided by Google yet, we are going to share a simple trick. Using this trick, you can keep your photos private on Google Photos.

Keep Your Photos Private on Google Photos

Step 1

First of all, you need to share the link of the album to your friends and family. Wait for everyone (the people you have selected) to join the album you shared. Next, go to the “Library” tab, and open the album you have shared. Now, tap on the three-dot menu on top right corner and select “Options“.

open shared album and select menu and then options

Step 2

It is time to disable Link sharing. As soon as you disable Link Sharing, your album will become private. And all the existing members will remain intact.

Now, if anyone shares the existing link, no new person will be able to see your photos or join the album. So, to keep your Google Photos private, you should make a habit of disabling link sharing after everyone has joined the album.

Note: Only the owner of the album can disable link sharing. If you are not the owner, you need to ask the album owner to disable link sharing.

disable link sharing to keep your google photos private

Step 3

Besides, disabling Link sharing, you can use Google Photos’ quick sharing menu to privately share Google photos and videos. In this method, Google Photos does not generate a sharing link, it adds members internally.

use Google Photos quick sharing to keep your photos private

The drawback of this method is that shared photos are not available as albums. And you can not customize or change anything. This type of shared media will only appear in the “Chat” menu located at the top-left corner.

Secure your Google Photos and Keep them Private

You can easily keep your Google Photos and other media private using simple trick share above. We strongly recommend that you use the regular shared album feature. This feature allows you to keep track of every change. You can search for albums, automatically add photos based on similar faces, remove or add members, and more. But, you need to make it your habit to disable link sharing after everyone has joined the album.

Hope you liked this quick tutorial. We suggest you check your shared albums and disable their link sharing if not done already. Feel free to share this tutorial with your friends as well to make them aware of this trick. Also share your queries and suggestions in the comment section down below.

Editorial Staff

Hi there, we are the editorial staff at HELLPC Tutorials. We are a team of funny and technical people. Feel free to get in touch with us via Contact-Us page.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Back to top button