Google keeps adding new features to it’s apps. And one of the best feature Google has added to the Maps app, is Location sharing. Using this feature, you can share your real-time (live) location with your friends on Google Maps.
You can understand importance of this feature by considering following scenario: You and one of your friends want to catch up for dinner. But you are new to the city and have problems navigating. What would you do in such condition?
Here is where Google Maps real time location sharing feature comes to rescue. You and your friend both can share real time (live) location with each other on Google Maps. After that you can easily navigate to each other’s location.
SEE ALSO: How to Use Offline Maps in Windows 10?
Share your Real-time Location with your Friends on Google Maps
Follow these steps to see how to share live location on Google Maps.
Step 1: Open Google Maps and select Location Sharing
First open Google Maps app on your phone by tapping on Maps icon. After that tap on Profile icon and select Location Sharing.
Now, you can share your live location with your friend and vice versa. Once done, both of you can see each other’s real-time location on map and it will be very easy to both of you to navigate.
Step 2: Select Contact and Share Live Location
Now, tap on “New Share” button on Google Maps. On the next screen tap on “For 1 hour” button. After that you can set custom time to share your live location on Google Maps.
First, set the time then select the contact to share your live location and finally tap on Share. Google Maps will share your real-time location with selected contact.
Selected contact will receive a notification. After he clicks on it, he will be able to see your real-time location on Google Maps. Happy navigating with live location sharing feature.
NOTE: If both of you want to see each other’s location on Maps, ask your friend to share his real-time location as well. After that, both of you can see each other’s live location on Google Maps.
Step 3: Stop Sharing your Live Location
If you wish to stop sharing your location, you can simply do that from Google Maps app. Tap on the contact with whom you have shared your live location and tap on Stop button. That’s it, your friend won’t be able to see your location anymore.
Share your Live Location on Google Maps
Above tutorial explained how you can share your real-time location on Google Maps with your friends. Location sharing feature of Google Maps is very useful for almost everyone. You can meet your buddies easily by sharing your real-time (live) location with them on Google Maps.
Hope you liked this tutorial. Make sure to share this tutorial with your friends to make it easy for them to share their location with you. You can drop your queries and suggestions in comment section down below.